thinking about going vegan but need help

Hey all,
I’ve been reading articles about how wonderful veganism can be for your health (and the planet on top of that, stumble upon is a powerful tool haha). I’ve come to the conclusion that I would really like to become vegan, but I have a few problems I need your help to figure out.

I’m a college student, which means I have a very limited amount of money to spend. I’m also very new to eating things without meat or dairy in them. So I guess my question to satisfy both those problems would be is: how much does your grocery bill cost and what do you have on it?

I’m very busy so I can probably afford to go to the grocery store every 2 weeks. I’m also not looking to spend more than 150 per month, as that was about what I spent before.

If I can’t afford this, I might just wait until after college, but I’m hoping I can do it now.

Thanks for your help, and any other information on this process would be greatly appreciated.

I’m a vegan uni student as well!

My grocery bill… Hmm… hard to say because I work at a grocery store and I shop a little bit frequently. Fresh produce! :smiley: However, I probably spend about 25$ a week. Definitely not very expensive groceries. The most expensive part is replacing your carnivore diet staples with vegan diet staples.

I try to have on hand often some:
wild & brown rice mix
quinoa
lentils/lentil mix
can of beans
good multigrain-y bread with flax seeds
organic peanut butter
olive oil
fresh fruit and veggies [for veggies I really personally like broccoli because you can put it in everything.]
Mushrooms
DGLV [dark green leafy vegetables]
Soy/almond/or rice milk
Large flake oats
granola/trail mix/raw nuts etc