Coping with the Holidays!

One of the reasons I started posting on here is because I wanted to get my head straight before facing my family over the seasonal holidays (thanks to those of you who humoured me!). My Dad’s girlfriend is an ex-social worker and gave me some useful people-skills hints. I thought I would collate some of my thoughts and experiences here, just in case anybody else out there is having similar problems with family and friends. Please don’t sue me if these ideas don’t work out for you! I’m not an expert! And I’m hoping some of you will add your own.

It’s a phase. This is incredibly offensive, but some family like to think this! It’s easier than accepting that you’ve made a life decision that differs from theirs. By staying calm, logical and talking sensibly, you will (eventually) talk them round. They will probably be quite supportive if you can show you’ve put some thought into it! Do some reading round and have answers ready for some of the questions you’ll hear (Where do you get your protein? What’s wrong with eating farmed animals?). Try not to get angry; instead talk with passion about your reasons for choosing vegetarianism: do you object to the ethics of killing an animal, or modern methods of farming, or have a religious/spiritual/health reason? Try to listen to others and learn from them - they may have a point. If an argument gets heated and you don’t have an answer, just say “that’s interesting: I’ll definitely go and look it up.” Some people will get defensive and assume you are trying to convert them, so it often helps to smooth things over if you point out that it is your life-choice, and you don’t expect them to change (then lead by example - you may find them cutting down on meat a few months down the line anyway!)