Are these vegan?

General Vegan and Vegetarian Talk forum. Learn about veganism and its relation to environment, morality and human health.
aslan
Vegan Forum Beginner
Posts: 6
Joined: May 29, 2001 12:00 am
Location: danielle

Postby aslan » May 29, 2001 6:15 pm

Hi, I am a strict vegan and when something says only natural flavours I don't eat it. I am curious to know if the natural flavours, natural strawberry flavour, natural chocolate flavour..etc.that are in Soy Delicious and Rice Dream ice creams are vegan. Also, besides the fake cheese slices, are all Yves products vegan? Such as the faux ground round, faux sausages and faux back bacon. Thank you.

Jezebel
Vegan Forum Visitor
Posts: 9
Joined: Jun 1, 2001 12:00 am

Postby Jezebel » Jun 2, 2001 4:37 am

Got this straight off the Yves website :smile:

"Yves Veggie Cuisine products are vegan with the exception of our Good Slices that contain casein."

-Beth

aslan
Vegan Forum Beginner
Posts: 6
Joined: May 29, 2001 12:00 am
Location: danielle

Postby aslan » Jun 2, 2001 4:03 pm

Thank you very much, I too visited their website and think that it is awesome. I called them to see how strictly vegan they were and they are very strict. They told me that all the vitamins, minerals and natural flavors are produced from from the micro-fermentation (or something like that) of vegetables.

aslan
Vegan Forum Beginner
Posts: 6
Joined: May 29, 2001 12:00 am
Location: danielle

Postby aslan » Jun 2, 2001 4:16 pm

I also called Imagine Foods, who make Rice and Soy Dream, and all of their natural flavours, vitamins and minerals are all plant derived. The only thing to watch for is any ice cream with chocolate chunks, because although the ingredients are vegan, the chunks are processed on dairy-chocolate machines. (Unfortunately, the chocolate that covers their ice cream bars is also produced this way.) Also their 3 vegan stuffed sandwiches are processed on non-vegan machinery. Other than that, Imagine Foods is a great company that really cares about animals. They are privately owned which is why they have to use other machinery. All flavours of their Rice and Soy Dream beverages, their puddings, all of their soups (except their free-range chicken broth), and most of their "ice creams" are completely vegan. Oh, and the lady that I talked to there was amazing and was a vegan herself.

Sergio
Vegan Talk Veteran
Posts: 294
Joined: May 24, 2001 12:00 am
Contact:

Postby Sergio » Aug 2, 2001 10:38 pm

On 2001-06-02 00:37, Jezebel wrote:
Got this straight off the Yves website :smile:

"Yves Veggie Cuisine products are vegan with the exception of our Good Slices that contain casein."

-Beth

What is casein?
Thanks.

aslan
Vegan Forum Beginner
Posts: 6
Joined: May 29, 2001 12:00 am
Location: danielle

Postby aslan » Aug 8, 2001 9:22 pm

casein is the curdy (cheesy) protein that is derived from milk - watch out for it in soy and rice cheese slices because it doesn't always tell you on the package that it is milk derived.

User avatar
brookevegn
Vegan Forum Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 27, 2002 9:03 am
Location: sacramento, ca

Postby brookevegn » Oct 27, 2002 9:11 am

yeah why in the world is it that they loooove putting casein in "vegetarian" cheese? kind of defeats the purpose of non dairy in my mind

Sergio
Vegan Talk Veteran
Posts: 294
Joined: May 24, 2001 12:00 am
Contact:

Postby Sergio » Nov 2, 2002 11:11 pm

brookevegn wrote:yeah why in the world is it that they loooove putting casein in "vegetarian" cheese? kind of defeats the purpose of non dairy in my mind


I read there are vegan casein. But I don't remember where.

Bla

Postby Bla » Dec 23, 2003 1:29 pm

Here's a question...Is honey vegan????

i'm guessing it's not...

But i had this argument with a friend...

User avatar
bojster
Advanced Vegan Talker
Posts: 72
Joined: Mar 11, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

Postby bojster » Dec 27, 2003 9:19 pm

It's not, it's produced by animals.
So called "vegan+honey" diet is quite popular though... which doesn't change the fact that honey is not vegan. You can always use artificial one if you like it.

healthy4me

Is this vegan?

Postby healthy4me » Nov 5, 2004 10:52 am

Just a suggestion, instead of honey have you tried Agave nectar? I love it, better than honey or sugar in my humble opinion.

User avatar
Vegangirl
Vegan Forum Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 7, 2005 2:57 am

Re: Are these vegan?

Postby Vegangirl » Dec 11, 2009 1:18 pm

What is agave nectar like?

BigBecka
Lord of the posts
Posts: 513
Joined: Dec 2, 2006 7:53 pm

Re: Are these vegan?

Postby BigBecka » Dec 12, 2009 10:31 pm

Agave nectar is a thin syrup. You buy it in a squeezy bottle - it's usually next to the sugar in the supermarket (if they stock it!). It's very sweet: you only need a little of it to replace sugar or honey :wink:

User avatar
dragonfly
Vegan Talk Veteran
Posts: 213
Joined: Jul 15, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Strawberry Fields
Contact:

Re: Are these vegan?

Postby dragonfly » Dec 12, 2009 11:09 pm

Vegangirl wrote:What is agave nectar like?

agave nectar is very sweet and very good for you.
agave nectar has a very low glycemic value : http://www.blueagavenectar.com/glycemicindexofsugars.html

User avatar
Shilohite
Vegan Forum Beginner
Posts: 2
Joined: Feb 12, 2010 8:46 pm

Re: Are These Vegan?

Postby Shilohite » Feb 12, 2010 11:36 pm

If the forests were honey-dripping, perhaps the honey I happen to ingest wouldn't be such a headache/war. Mead is a warrior's diet, like locust and honey.

meign
AR Knight
Posts: 2229
Joined: Sep 15, 2010 8:55 am

Re: Are these vegan?

Postby meign » Sep 24, 2010 7:30 am

I always here about agave nectar, does this come from a flower? like flower nectar?

RandyK
Active Vegan Talker
Posts: 27
Joined: Sep 23, 2010 10:02 am

Re: Are these vegan?

Postby RandyK » Sep 24, 2010 1:16 pm

Agave syrup comes from the same cactus that they make tequila from. It's totally delicious, but is more expensive than honey in my area.

meign
AR Knight
Posts: 2229
Joined: Sep 15, 2010 8:55 am

Re: Are these vegan?

Postby meign » Sep 27, 2010 3:08 am

RandyK wrote:Agave syrup comes from the same cactus that they make tequila from. It's totally delicious, but is more expensive than honey in my area.


Thanks a lot Randy... Haven't tried it yet... I was amaze knowing that we can get something to take in from cactus;)

snog
Vegan Forum Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Sep 30, 2010 3:31 pm

Re: Are these vegan?

Postby snog » Oct 12, 2010 10:32 am

RandyK wrote:Agave syrup comes from the same cactus that they make tequila from. It's totally delicious, but is more expensive than honey in my area.


Luckily for me, a job lot chain of stores in my area in western mass and ct carry tons of it very cheaply, too. I bought a bottle. Gotta try it...

meign
AR Knight
Posts: 2229
Joined: Sep 15, 2010 8:55 am

Re: Are these vegan?

Postby meign » Oct 15, 2010 6:42 am

i think I will have hard time looking for it here at our place... Maybe there are other substitute for it... got to be an adventurer and search for other alternatives...

lynch009
Advanced Vegan Talker
Posts: 59
Joined: Jun 5, 2012 9:37 am

Re: Are these vegan?

Postby lynch009 » Jun 14, 2012 3:44 am

Yes they are all Vegan, except for the one, HONEY is not a Vegan.

Merrygaity
Vegan Forum Guest
Posts: 14
Joined: May 10, 2013 8:32 am

Re: Are these vegan?

Postby Merrygaity » May 31, 2013 10:43 am

Yes off course and no doughty these are Vegan..
Thanks


 


  • RELATED_TOPICS
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Vegan Chat”