Are you veggie if you eat fish?

While talking with non veggies we get a lot of questions. This forum is to finding the best answers to those questions.
User avatar
EXOTIC
Vegan Forum Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Nov 27, 2007 12:39 pm

Are you veggie if you eat fish?

Postby EXOTIC » Nov 27, 2007 12:42 pm

I know someone who considers themself to be vegetarian but eats seafood. I have recently cut out eating meat

however I still eat fish and do not consider myself veggie because of this. Is this vegetarian or piscatarian

(this word is not in the dictionary)?

BigBecka
Lord of the posts
Posts: 513
Joined: Dec 2, 2006 7:53 pm

Postby BigBecka » Nov 27, 2007 9:25 pm

Hi! I believe the word you're looking for is Pescatarian :)

A lot of people where I live consider pescatarians to be vegetarians :evil: I've had some arguements with restaurant staff over it :blackeye: I've also noticed that it happens in Germany a lot, for some reason: Cafes and Restaurants will have a "Fleichlos" (land-dwelling meat-free) option (if you're lucky), but not necessarily a 'proper' vegetarian option.

User avatar
AndyBa
Vegan Zealot
Posts: 892
Joined: May 27, 2001 12:00 am
Contact:

Postby AndyBa » Jan 18, 2008 1:44 pm

Where I live as well many people think that vegetarians eat fish. :)

Guest

Postby Guest » Mar 13, 2008 5:57 pm

AndyBa wrote:Where I live as well many people think that vegetarians eat fish. :)

But I think that wich eat fish are not vegetarians

User avatar
dragonfly
Vegan Talk Veteran
Posts: 213
Joined: Jul 15, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Strawberry Fields
Contact:

Postby dragonfly » Dec 13, 2008 8:55 pm

If you consume or use any animal products then you are not vegan.

From Vegan Society :

  • Question: What is a vegan?

    Answer: A vegan is someone who tries to live without exploiting animals, for the benefit of animals, people and the planet. Vegans eat a plant-based diet, with nothing coming from animals - no meat, milk, eggs or honey, for example. A vegan lifestyle also avoids leather, wool, silk and other animal products for clothing or any other purpose.
  • Question: What's the difference between 'vegan' and 'vegetarian'?

    Answer: A vegetarian person chooses not to eat foods which come from dead animals, such as meat, gelatine and rennet. A vegan person doesn't eat anything that comes from living animals either, like milk and eggs. Vegans also try to avoid using any animal products, like leather or wool, for clothing or any other purpose.
  • Question: How did the word vegan come about?

    Answer: It is the beginning and end of the word, 'vegetarian'. It was coined in the UK by Donald Watson in 1944 when The Vegan Society was founded. It symbolises that veganism is the logical conclusion of the vegetarian journey to good health without the suffering or death of any animal.

User avatar
AndyBa
Vegan Zealot
Posts: 892
Joined: May 27, 2001 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: Are you veggie if you eat fish?

Postby AndyBa » Oct 28, 2009 9:31 pm

I remember once my wife and I were in a sushi house. I ordered some sushi with vegetables and she ordered some Japanese pasta with vegetables. We clearly told the waiter that we are vegetarians and asked for vegetarian foods.

The sushi was ok, but when the guy brought the pasta it had something on it that was moving... my wife was shocked, she almost screamed. :) The waiter told us that it is just hot fish skin or something, that it is there for beauty only we don't have to eat it. :roll:

User avatar
VeganOverTheRainbow
Vegan Forum Guest
Posts: 10
Joined: May 6, 2010 3:28 pm
Location: Missouri
Contact:

Re: Are you veggie if you eat fish?

Postby VeganOverTheRainbow » May 7, 2010 7:19 pm

Vegetarians do not eat animals. Fish are animals, too. =]

Kiynwah
Vegan Forum Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 4, 2010 4:06 pm

Re: Are you veggie if you eat fish?

Postby Kiynwah » Jul 6, 2010 9:21 pm

many people call themselves vegetarian and eat fish, but strictly speaking you are not

User avatar
coexist76
Vegan Forum Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Jun 29, 2010 10:37 pm

Re: Are you veggie if you eat fish?

Postby coexist76 » Jul 6, 2010 10:21 pm

There are different "types". Before turning vegan, I was a "lacto ovo" vegetarian. I still ate eggs and dairy.

I know people that consider themselves vegetarians that eat fish and chicken.

I think it's a great start! I started off with no meat, then had a vegan diet, and now trying for a vegan lifestyle (not using products tested on animals, made with animal products, etc). It's not easy, but it gets easier and I for one feel better both mentally and physically.

Rayman
Vegan Forum Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 6, 2010 2:06 pm

Re: Are you veggie if you eat fish?

Postby Rayman » Jul 7, 2010 10:12 pm

VeganOverTheRainbow wrote:Vegetarians do not eat animals. Fish are animals, too. =]


Couldn't have put it better myself.

8)

User avatar
ClaireGosse
Vegan Forum Guest
Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Are you veggie if you eat fish?

Postby ClaireGosse » Jul 13, 2010 7:40 pm

If it had a face, it's NOT vegetarian. :wink:

User avatar
MuskokaVegetarian
Vegan Forum Guest
Posts: 14
Joined: Jul 28, 2010 3:14 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: Are you veggie if you eat fish?

Postby MuskokaVegetarian » Jul 28, 2010 4:03 pm

There are different types of vegetarians and I eat fish and I am considered a vegetarian..my doctor says if I do not eat fish then I would most likely die.....

meign
AR Knight
Posts: 2229
Joined: Sep 15, 2010 8:55 am

Re:

Postby meign » Sep 27, 2010 4:49 am

dragonfly wrote:If you consume or use any animal products then you are not vegan.

From Vegan Society :

  • Question: What is a vegan?

    Answer: A vegan is someone who tries to live without exploiting animals, for the benefit of animals, people and the planet. Vegans eat a plant-based diet, with nothing coming from animals - no meat, milk, eggs or honey, for example. A vegan lifestyle also avoids leather, wool, silk and other animal products for clothing or any other purpose.
  • Question: What's the difference between 'vegan' and 'vegetarian'?

    Answer: A vegetarian person chooses not to eat foods which come from dead animals, such as meat, gelatine and rennet. A vegan person doesn't eat anything that comes from living animals either, like milk and eggs. Vegans also try to avoid using any animal products, like leather or wool, for clothing or any other purpose.
  • Question: How did the word vegan come about?

    Answer: It is the beginning and end of the word, 'vegetarian'. It was coined in the UK by Donald Watson in 1944 when The Vegan Society was founded. It symbolises that veganism is the logical conclusion of the vegetarian journey to good health without the suffering or death of any animal.


This is so educational... This will help those who are having hard time to compare vegetarian from vegan... Thanks a lot...


Return to “Veggie Questions and Answers”